My Thoughts On: BPH

Remember when I went off on a little rant, before and after the grand finals of Pinoy Boyband Superstar?

Well, I’m not saying that I regret any of what I’ve said. In fact, I’ve decided to cool it on my BoybandPH fan activities. As in, I barely ever think about them. But I have recently listened to their first EP, and I just can’t keep my thoughts to myself. I would tell a friend, but I’m the only fangirl. I’m probably also the only one in my circle of family/friends that give a damn about BPH.

Anyway, it’s been a while since Unli was released. The first listen, a live performance, and I already decided it was cringe-y. But it was catchy. A kind of guilty pleasure song that you don’t exactly want your friends to know you enjoy, and at the same time you cringe every time you hear it. I’ve had a love-hate relationship with that song ever since I heard the studio version. I don’t want to rant about it, though. I’ve accepted the fact that their debut single was cringe-y. ZE:A debuted with Mazeltov, Block B had the unfortunate luck to debut with that song that shall not be named (although, in their case, it was the visuals that mostly made it taboo for fans), so I guess BPH can afford one cringe-y first song.

I’m hoping they improve, though. Their other songs were promising. 😄

Leave a Reply

